Skip to content

SA Idols Contestants Soar The Stage

August 12, 2012

Tonight, the Top 9 contestants pulled all the stops during their performances. South Africa sat in front of their TV screens as they witnessed the contestants fight for their rightful spot in the top 8.

And Man, Oh! Man.. Did they sang or what? There were some couple of hiccups here and there, but the overall show was epic. I recall one of the judges pointing out that during the early stages of the past seasons of the competition, you could easily tell who was going to be eliminated. But now, it’s really hard to predict.

Tshidi, Monde, Simphiwe, Shekhinah, Khaya and Melissa are the ones who I thought they did really well. Khaya took on a David Guetta/Usher’s “Without You” which I think he did pretty well, but I feel he’s yet to outperform his rendition of Nicki Minaj’s ‘Super Bass’ he did at The Soweto Theatre. Shekhinah’s version of ‘Marry The Night’ was splendid as well. DAMN! That girl has range and she did beautifully. While Simphiwe belted out Ne-Yo’s UK #1 smash, ‘Beautiful Monster’. To me, it feels like he’s a one dimensional performer. He has not done anything dance related or out of his comfort zone, but the power and range he possesses, is extraordinary.

Tshidi took on the 2004 hit, Evanescence – “My Immortal” and I ascended to heaven. To think how of an underdog she was just a few weeks back. Tshidi murdered her performance, AGAIN. She brought all the artillery and it was out of this world. I applaud her for that. Dominic, Chloe and Nosipho were so and so. But Chloe and Nosipho are definitely safe in my opinion. We will get to see how it unfolds this coming Tuesday at the results show.

You can catch all the action on the Idols website video gallery here.

From → SA Idols

4 Comments
  1. Nice read. Tshidi is a beast tbh. I feel like Khaya dropped a bit for me.

  2. Lol. Thanks. I loved Tshidi too. She’s amazing vocalist. She definitely grew from last year.

  3. Yeah. She definitely did, but you didn’t say much about Melissa and I think she stepped it up to from last week.

    • Lol. I know. And she did perform the hell out of that song. My bad. But I think she’s definitely safe:D.

Leave a Reply

